Worship

Topic 4 – Worship

So as I’ve said, spending time alone with God is really important, in fact it’s invaluable, but what should that time consist of?

Well really it can consist of anything that helps you to feel connected to God and helps you to better understand His character and the plans He has for you, but one of the best ways I find of connecting and spending that time is worshipping. I love to just get out my guitar and play some of my favorite worship songs and lose myself for a while. Often for me that leads to writing as that is my way of really expressing my love, but playing guitar isn’t the only way to worship God. I know that we are all so used to corporate worship being lead by keys or a guitarist at the front of the church, but that doesn’t mean you have to have to be a graded musician to worship on your own. Listen through your favorite worship album and reflect on the words, sing along or just go for it a capella. Not only that but tell God how you feel. Even thanking Him for the things He has done is an act of worship and all just as valid as following a chord sheet.

This is so important, because we serve a God that deserves our unending praise! As one of my favorite worship songs growing up said ‘If we could see how much you’re worth, your power, your might, your endless love, then surely we would never cease to praise!’ and it’s so true. If only we could grasp the enormity of God and the incredibly things He has done. To humble himself as a man and die for us, all so that we may walk free from death and suffering… I hope one day I am able to understand just what that meant, but until then I’m going to spend every minute I can in worship of the man who did it all!

Worship doesn’t stop when that alone time is finished either. The Bible tells us in 1 Chronicles 16:23-24 ‘Sing to the LORD, all the earth; proclaim his salvation day after day. Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous deeds among all peoples.’ Therefore everything we do can and should be an act of worship. The way that we act and speak to people should all reflect out relationship with God and share something of His love. It is our task to try to show something of that amazing love through the people we are and every time we act in a way that brings Glory to God, that is an act of worship. So lets make the most of our opportunities to share that love, not only in our actions, but also directly! I realized far too recently than when you really ask God to provide opportunities to share your faith, he provides them. So let’s get out there, live as people of God and get talking about our faith, all as acts of worship that glorify the big man! And we’ll talk about how to strike up those conversations soon!

Leave a Reply

